Enable object versioning
Globally enables or disables object versioning. This option is enabled by default. If disabled, no versions are created when objects are modified.
Delete objects to recycle bin
Determines which objects the system stores in the recycle bin when they are deleted.
Note: Storing very large media files in the recycle bin consumes a significant amount of memory and space in the database. If your system contains such files, we recommend selecting the Versioned objects only option and keeping versioning disabled for Media files.
Use check-in/check-out for objects
Keep new objects checked out
Indicates if new objects are automatically checked out upon creation.
Version history length (minor versions)
Indicates how many minor versions of a single object will be stored in its version history. If the number of versions exceeds this value, the oldest version is deleted. If set to 0, minor versions history length is not limited.
|Version history length (major versions)||Indicates how many major versions of a single object will be stored in its version history. If the number of major versions exceeds this value, the oldest versions are deleted. If set to 0, major versions history length is not limited.|
Save to last version if younger than (minutes)
If an object is edited and saved within this number of minutes since it was last saved, changes made to it are saved to the last version. If it is saved after more minutes since it was last saved, a new version is created. If set to 0, a new version is created whenever you save an edited object.
Promote to major version if older than (hours)
If an object is edited and saved after this number of hours since it was last saved, a new major version is created. If it is saved earlier, a new minor version is created or the changes are saved to the latest version (depending on the setting above). If set to 0, major versions are never created automatically.
Use object versioning for
Indicates if versioning of page type, on-line form and custom table alternative forms is allowed.
|Automation process||Indicates if versioning of the automation process objects is allowed.|
Indicates if versioning of CSS stylesheets is allowed.
Custom table definitions
Indicates if versioning of custom table definitions is allowed.
Page type definitions
Indicates if versioning of page type definitions is allowed.
Indicates if versioning of e-mail templates is allowed.
Indicates if versioning of on-line form definitions is allowed (in the Forms application).
Indicates if versioning of media library files is allowed.
Note: Versioning of very large media files may consume an extensive amount of database space and memory. This option is disabled by default.
Media files versioned extensions
Extensions of versioned media files. Only media files with extensions enumerated here will be versioned.
Indicates if versioning of campaign emails is allowed.
Email campaign templates
Indicates if versioning of email campaign templates is allowed.
Indicates if versioning of page layouts is allowed.
Indicates if versioning of page templates is allowed.
Indicates if versioning of page type and custom table queries is allowed. Only custom queries are versioned — system queries are not versioned because they are re-generated by the system automatically when their parent object is modified.
Indicates if versioning of report graphs is allowed.
Indicates if versioning of report tables is allowed.
Indicates if versioning of report values is allowed.
Indicates if versioning of report definitions is allowed.
Indicates if versioning of page type and custom table transformations is allowed.
|UI element||Indicates if versioning of UI element objects is allowed.|
Web part containers
Indicates if versioning of web part containers is allowed.
Web part layouts
Indicates if versioning of web part layouts is allowed.
Indicates if versioning of workflow objects is allowed.